HomeCCRPIGeorgia Standards of ExcellenceGPSContent Area FrameworksResources/VideosPersonalized LearningArchives
Effective Practices for CCRPI Elementary School Indicator 8

Percent of students in grade 5 achieving a Lexile measure equal to or greater than 850 on the Georgia Milestones ELA EOG

4/5 ACADEMY AT FIFTH AVENUE (CITY OF SCHOOLS OF DECATUR)*
Karen Newton, Coordinator
IB Primary Years Program,
knewton@csdecatur.net
404-371-6680

Effective practices at The 4/5 Academy at Fifth Avenue are:

1. applying inquiry strategies to reading materials;
2. emphasizing interdisciplinary connections;
3. providing a variety of reading resources in classrooms and media center;
4. cultivating an environment that values reading.

BRANDON MORRIS ELEMENTARY SCHOOL (ATLANTA PUBLIC SCHOOLS)
Kara Stimpson, Principal
kmstimpson@atlanta.k12.ga.us
404-802-7250

Effective practices at Brandon Morris Elementary School are:

1. aligning reading strategies and practices in grades K-5;
2. identifying and implementing early literacy strategies;
3. monitoring students’ Lexile progress with STAR Reading;
4. implementing transdisciplinary studies in ELA and social studies/science;
5. providing text-dependent learning opportunities that integrate scaffolding techniques.

References:

Complete Reading Series
Saxon Phonics
STAR Reading
Document-Based Questions (DBQ)

BROOKWOOD ELEMENTARY SCHOOL (FORSYTH COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Amy Chapple
achapple@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Kathy Bain
kbain@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Kathie Braswell
kbraswell@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Gina Burns
gburns@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Kelly Lessard
klessard@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Greg Singleton
gsingleton@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Susan Voshell
svoshell@forsyth.k12.ga.us

Effective practices at Brookwood Elementary School are:

1. analyzing available data;
2. formulating higher-order thinking questions;
3. providing grade-level content reading materials and America’s Battle of the Books;
4. guiding instruction using Fountas and Pinnell’s “running records”;
5. designing block schedules for core courses;
6. scheduling RTI sessions three times a week;
7. motivating and supporting students using the WHY TRY Program;
8. encouraging a safe environment using the Olweus Program;
9. developing student leadership with the TREK Leader Program.

References:
 
Fountas and Pinnell resources
http://whytry.org/
http://battleofthebooks.org/
http://www.clemson.edu/olweus/

FORT DANIEL ELEMENTARY SCHOOL (GWINNETT COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Beth Martinez, Media Specialist

beth_martinez@gwinnett.k12.ga.us
770-932-7400

Effective practices at Fort Daniel Elementary School are:

1. developing a school culture that values reading;
2. setting individual and school reading goals in the STAR program;
3. utilizing Accelerated Reader as a resource;
4. establishing tiered incentives for students meeting reading goals.

LAKE PARK ELEMENTARY SCHOOL (DOUGHERTY COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Tiffany Pafford, Teacher
tiffany.pafford@docoschools.org
229-431-3370

Effective practices at Lake Park Elementary School are:

1. examining STAR data;
2. setting individual goals in Accelerated Reader (AR);
3. monitoring students’ progress as independent readers;
4. rotating focus groups of independent and AR readers;
5. assigning reading as homework;
6. scheduling read-aloud and conference sessions. 

Reference:

http://www.renaissance.com/products/accelerated-reader

MACEDONIA ELEMENTARY SCHOOL (CHEROKEE COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Tammy Castleberrry, Principal

tammy.castleberry@cherokee.k12.ga.us
770-479-3429

Effective practices at Macedonia Elementary School are:

1. collaborating among team members and media specialist during common planning times;
2. developing interactive, common core lessons that complement each other;
3. creating interdisciplinary assignments;
4. maintaining interactive notebooks;
5. incentivizing students who exceed personal reading goals.

VANDERLYN ELEMENTARY SCHOOL (DEKALB COUNTY SCHOOLS)
Tracey Crenshaw, Principal
Tracey_crenshaw@deklabschoolsga.org

Effective practices at Vanderlyn Elementary School are:

1. developing a school culture that values literacy and self-efficacy;
2. encouraging high academic performances;
3. analyzing data in order to identify academic strengths/weaknesses and modify instruction;
4. integrating  strategies/resources such as Project-Based Learning, interdisciplinary studies, differentiated instruction, leveled reading, targeted tutorials, STAR Reading Program into instruction;
5. promoting higher-order thinking skills;
6. providing students with a plethora of reading resources;
7. identifying effective practices and strategies in Professional Learning Communities.

* School’s effective practices based on 2012-2014 CRCT performances

Related Information
On this Website Related Links