HomeCCRPIGeorgia Standards of ExcellenceGPSContent Area FrameworksResources/VideosPersonalized LearningArchives
Effective Practices for CCRPI High School Indicator 9

Percent of graduates completing a CTAE pathway, or an advanced academic pathway, or an IB Career Related Programme, or a fine arts pathway, or a world language pathway within their program of study

APALACHEE HS (BARROW COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Angela Boyd , Assistant Principal

angela.boyd@barrow.k12.ga.us
Beth Parks, CTAE
caryn.parks@barrow.k12.ga.us
770-586-5111

Effective practices at Apalachee High school are:

1. requiring Pathway completion as a graduation requirement;
2. providing Pathway course information through advisement videos, course booklets and registration sessions;
3. monitoring students' transcripts and providing guidance in selection of Pathway courses;
4. orienting and promoting Pathways  programs to middle school students and parents.

CEDARTOWN HS (POLK COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Dr. Katie Thomas, CTAE Director

kthomas@polk.k12.ga.us
770-748-3821
Dr. Darrell Wetherington, Principal
dwetherington@polk.k12.ga.us
770-748-0490

Effective practices at Cedartown High School are:

1. requiring Pathway completion as a graduation requirement;
2. developing an effective K-12 Teachers As Advisors Program which focuses on career clusters and soft skills;
3. aligning career pathways to wages, skills and demand;
4. emphasizing career planning through career connections opportunities aligned to Bridge Bill;
5. hosting Reality Job Fair for 8th graders prior to high school registration.

RUTLAND HS (BIBB COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Dr. Jerri Hall, Principal
jhall.ruthlandhs@bibb.k12.ga.us
478-779-3100

Effective practices at Rutland High School are:

1. advising and monitoring students' course selections and transcripts;
2. using Teachers as Advisors and counselors to monitor sequence of courses that lead to pathway completion;
3. communicating with students and parents about pathway requirements;
4. outlining at each grade level tentative course selections that will lead to a completed pathway.

SONORAVILLE HS (GORDON COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Dr. Susan Remillard, Superintendent
sremillard@gcbe.org
706-629-7366
Dr. Amy Parker, CTAE Director/CEO-College & Career Academy
ajparker@gcbe.org
Amy Stewart, Academic Pathways
astewart@gcbe.org
Hannah Nelson, Fine Arts Pathways
hnelson@gcbe.org
Kristen McGuire, World Language Pathways
kmcquire@gcbe.org
Bruce Potts, Principal
bpotts@gcbe.org
706-602-0320

Effective practices at Sonoraville High School are:

1. requiring pathway completion as a graduation requirement;
2. aligning pathway courses to meet state and program standards;
3. designing engaging and relevant lessons/experiences for all students;
4. participating in PAGE High School Redesign Initiative and striving for excellence.

References: Gordon County Board of Education Graduation Requirements and PAGE High School Redesign

SOUTH EFFINGHAM HS (EFFINGHAM COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Dr. Mark Winters, Principal
mwinters@effingham.k12.ga.us
Angie Wood, AP/CTAE Supervisor
awood@effingham.k12.ga.us
912-728-7511

Effective practices at South Effingham County High School are:

1. requiring  pathway completion as a graduation requirement;
2. communicating  pathway requirements using a course selection guide  during registrations;
3. completing  checklist of recommended courses for each pathway for each student;
4. monitoring students' course selections and completing checklist of pathway requirements at three levels:  teacher/advisor, guidance counselor and instructional or CTAE supervisor.

WASHINGTON-WILKES COMPREHENSIVE HS*
Don Bridges, Counselor
bridgesd@wilkes.k12.ga.us
706-678-2426
Mark Ward, Principal
mward@wilkes.k12.ga.us

Effective practices at  Washington-Wilkes High School are:

1. identifying tentative career interests and course selections at eighth-grade;
2. introducing pathway courses as soon as possible to students;
3. developing a culture of expectation about pathway participation and completion;
4. monitoring and aligning students' course selections with pathway requirements;
5. scheduling daily a 20-minute "Teacher as Advisor" period  (students are assigned to the same teacher throughout high school).

WARE COUNTY HS (WARE COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Dr. Tim Dixon, Principal

timdixon@ware.k12.ga.us
Jewel Sharpe, Counselor
jsharpe@ware.k12.ga.us
Dorrie Jones, Counselor
djones@ware.k12.ga.us
Loretta Coar, Counselor
lcoar@ware.k12.ga.us
912-287-2351

Effective practices at Ware County High School are:

1. requiring Pathway completion as a graduation requirement;
2. creating for each student a four-year course selection plan which includes Pathway courses;
3. completing yearly school registration with parent/guardian participation.

WINDER-BARROW HS (BARROW COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Betsy Bell, Counselor
kathryn.bell@barrow.k12.ga.us
Heather Lundy, Physical Education
heather.l.lundy@barrow.k12.ga.us
Jennifer Martin, AP-Curriculum
jennifer.martin@barrow.k12.ga.us
Dr. Pam McGee, CTAE DIrector
pam.mcgee@barrow.k12.ga.us
770-867-4519

Effective practices at Winder-Barrow High School are:

1. requiring pathway completion as a graduation requirement;
2. hosting ninth-grade orientation which provides information about course requirements and experiences for pathway completion;
3. advising students/parents about pathway requirements and career possibilities during weekly advisement meetings and during course registrations;
4. implementing block schedules for 10th -12th graders;
5. scheduling career days.

* School’s effective practices based on 2012-2014 performance data.

Related Information
On this Website Related Links