HomeCCRPIGeorgia Standards of ExcellenceGPSContent Area FrameworksResources/VideosPersonalized LearningArchives
Effective Practices for CCRPI Middle School Indicator 5

Percent of English Learners with positive movement from one Performance Band to a higher Performance Band as measured by the ACCESS for ELLs

CLAXTON MIDDLE SCHOOL (EVANS COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Dr. Diane Holland, Principal
dholland@evans.k12.ga.us
Dr. Kristy Vandenberg, Director of Federal Program and Curriculum and Instruction
Mrs. Tracy Taylor, ESOL Teacher

ttaylor@evans.k12.ga.us
(912) 739-3646

Effective practices at Claxton Middle School are:

1. analyzing data bi-weekly to target instructional needs;
2. utilizing universal screeners to identify gaps in learning;
3. scheduling English Learners in collaborative settings with ESOL/content teachers;
4. assigning EL students to intense, small-group instruction;
5. increasing vocabulary and reading fluency using Word Smart and SRA;
6. teaching explicitly content vocabulary.

C.W. DAVIS MIDDLE SCHOOL (HALL COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Brittany Means, EL Teacher
brittany.means@hallco.org
Sharon Sample, Assistant Principal
sharon.sample@hallco.org
770-965-3020

Effective practices at C. W. Davis Middle School are:

1. providing intensive and individualized instruction for EL students;
2. analyzing students' progress data;
3. focusing on literacy skills that foster academic success.

EDWARDS MIDDLE SCHOOLS (ROCKDALE COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Dr. Melissa Kenard, Teacher

mkenard@rockdale.k12.ga.us
Dr. April Roberts, Teacher
aroberts@rockdale.k12.ga.us
770-483-3255

Effective practices at Edwards Middle School are:

1. identifying students' levels of language proficiency;
2. using Push-In instructional models to provide a challenging learning environment;
3. providing academic support in each content area;
4. planning and implementing ESOL lessons that enhance mastery of content and language acquisition.

Reference:

Krashen, S.(1982). Principles and Practices in Second Language Acquisitions. Oxford:Pergamon Press.

FREEDOM MIDDLE SCHOOL (DEKALB COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Corey Davidson, Principal
corey_d_davidson@fc.dekalb.k12.ga.us
678-874-8702

Effective practices at Freedom Middle School are:

1. incorporating intensive language and sheltered instructional models;
2. implementing effective Sheltered Instruction Protocol practices;
3. measuring students' academic progress;
4. promoting the use of academic language in EL classes.

Reference: Intensive English Program Sheltered Instruction Observation Protocol

MCCLURE MIDDLE SCHOOL (COBB COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Scott Kay, Teacher
scott.kay@cobbk12.org
Kelly Metcalfe, Principal
kelly.metcalfe@cobbk12.org
678-331-8131

Effective practices at McClure Middle School are:

1. scheduling separate EL classes;
2. emphasizing reading informational texts and writing assignments in READ 180 Program;
3. analyzing data, such as ACCESS scores, to set goals;
4. applying test-taking strategies.

RUSSELL MIDDLE SCHOOLS (BARROW COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Leigh Sears, Principal

leigh.sears@barrow.k12.ga.us
770-867-8181

Effective practices at Russell Middle School are:

1. adding Connections teachers to collaborative classes;
2. providing tutorials for EL students;
3. scheduling strategically sheltered science courses;
4. hiring ESOL certified teachers.

WEST CHATHAM MIDDLE SCHOOL (SAVANNAH-CHATHAM SCHOOLS)*
Debra Grossnickle, ESOL Dept. Chairperson
Debra.Grossnickle@sccpss.com
Dr. Troy Brown, Principal
Troy.Brown@sccpss.com
Dr. Amy Loskoski, Assistant Principal
Amy.Loskoski@sccpss.com
Ms. Lesley Jordan, Assistant Principal
Lesley.Jordan@sccpss.com
912-395-3650

Effective practices at West Chatham Middle School are:

1. completing researched-based professional learning;
2. developing an action plan that incorporates six key instructional strategies;
3. implementing six key instructional strategies: 
  a. vocabulary and language development; 
  b. guided, interactive lessons; 
  c. metacognition and authentic assessments; 
  d. explicit instruction ( academic language and reading comprehension); 
  e. connections among meaning-based contexts and universal themes; 
  f. using modeling, graphic organizers and visuals.

W.R. COILE MIDDLE SCHOOL (CLARKE COUNTY SCHOOLS)*
Dwight Manzy, Principal
manzyd@clarke.k12.ga.us
706-357-5328

Effective practices at W.R. Coile Middle School are:

1. utilizing reading strategies in all courses;
2. developing meaningful language experiences that emphasize literacy skills and mastery of content;
3. scheduling and supporting collaborative models of instruction;
4. analyzing WIDA ACCESS data and designing support systems for students;
5. creating a culture of high expectations. 

References:

- Frang, Z & Schleppegrell M. (2008).  Reading in Secondary Content Areas: A Language-Based Pedagogy.  Ann Arbor, MI: The University of Michigan Press.
- Gibbins, P. (2002).  Scaffodling Language Scaffolding Learning: Teaching Second Language in the Mainstream Classroom.  Ports, NH; Heineman.
- ESL Co-teaching and Collaboration Opportunities to Develop Teacher Leadership and Enhance Student Learning 

* School’s effective practices based on 2012-2014 CRCT performances

Related Information
On this Website Related Links